1914 Metz 22 #27081

1914 Metz 22 Egine #27081

I am the owner of the 1914 Metz 22 with engine number 27081. I saw the car advertised in, I think, Cars and Parts magazine and subsequently purchased it in late 1999 from Dr. Art Burrichter, a dealer in collector cars in Monticello, Iowa. He had it on consignment from the family of the previous owner who had titled it as a 1912. It was in good running condition but the tires were shot and the fiber drive pulley had flat spots. After replacing the tires and the fiber drive pulley with a new one from Paper Pulleys, I would take it for spins around the block. I couldn’t make too many trips around before I needed water since the radiator leaked very badly.

I started the restoration process in February of 2004 and by the end of the year had it all apart except the engine which I elected not to tear down since it has great compression and runs well. I also had the front axle and frame straightened since they were bent and had the frame rails and the engine painted and back together by the end of 2004. Since I knew it was going to take some time and I don’t trust my memory, I documented the vehicle tear down in pictures, drawings, and words so I would be able to assemble the car as I got the parts restored. I have placed some of the disassembly and reassembly pictures on a website that I created for information that I found about the Metz car company and the Metz car. The address for the website is http://home.earthlink.net/~metz1914

The car was painted yellow with black radiator and fenders when I bought it. I liked the sporty look so am painting it yellow with black pin striping instead of the original colors. Again, see the reassembly pictures on my web site. When I stripped the yellow paint, I could see some of the original cream pin striping on the wood rear cross piece. It was obviously on the original blue paint; however, the blue had changed to almost black. Also I found traces of the original black pin striping and bolt head dots on the original cream paint of the wheels when I scraped the yellow paint off (see pictures on my website). When I used paint remover to remove the black paint that had been used on the inside of the hood when the car was painted yellow, I found the number 29 written in some kind of thick white pencil on the two top pieces of the hood. I am guessing when I assume that this was to keep matching pieces identified when the car was built.The two pictures that I am including show the car when I first bought it and at its present state of restoration.

Gordon E. Carlson

1914 Metz 22 #27081

1914 Metz 22 #27081

1914 Metz 22 #27081

1914 Metz 22 #27081

Published in: on May 5, 2009 at 5:17 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://metzauto.wordpress.com/2009/05/05/1914-metz-22-27081/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

